Oregon Bay Shrimp Cakes

Image

I’m lucky.

Not only do I get a discount at the best grocery store in the Pacific Northwest, I get to spend my dollars on locally sourced and delicious food!  This recipe features local Oregon Bay Shrimp.  I tasted the shrimps by themselves before I made the cakes and they were the perfect blend of salty and sweet.  It’s one of my boyfriend’s favorite dishes and I’m pretty sure he would be content if I made them 3 times a week!

Oregon Bay Shrimp Cakes   (yield:  approximately 8-10 cakes)

Oregon Bay Shrimp(cooked)           1 pint (or 1 LB)

Garlic                                                   1 clove, minced

Butter                                                   1/2 TBSP

Green onion                                        1 stalk, sliced thin

Fresh Dill                                             2 TBSP, minced

Japanese Panko                                  1 and 1/2 cup

Egg, large                                            1, beaten

Zest of lemon, minced                      As much as you want (I love zest, so I tend to over do it)

Mayo                                                   1 TBSP

Sriracha                                               1 tsp

Salt and pepper                                 TT  (to taste)

Peanut oil, for cooking                   4 TBSP to start, adding more as needed

Instructions:

  1. Saute shrimps quickly in butter and garlic.  Set aside to cool.  When the shrimps are cooled, mince.
  2. In a large mixing bowl, combine the rest of the ingredients.
  3. Form the mixture into a ball and flatten (I usually portion them into golf ball sized measurements)
  4. In a skillet, heat up peanut oil on medium high heat.
  5. Fry cakes until golden brown on each side, about 5-6 minutes, adding more oil if needed.  (I continually check for perfect golden brown color!)

Serve immediately!

Prep time is 20 minutes, depending on your skill level of course.

A nice Sauvignon Blanc or even a local hard cider (if you live in the NW) would go well with these suckers!  Enjoy!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

