Chicken Katsu

Not your ordinary KFC

My son returned from Japan this morning!  Upon leaving the airport, I asked him what he wanted for dinner tonight.  I knew the answer already, but I always ask anyway because he just might suggest something different.  Who am I kidding?  “You should know!  Chicken katsu!”  It’s his favorite dish and I usually make musubi and namasu to go along with it.  I should have planned for jet lag because not even 2 hours after he got home, he passed out on the couch!  So it sits….

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This also packs well as a picnic!  I took it on many kayak trips in the summer and nothing tastes better than chicken katsu and musubi after 4 hours on the water!

Ingredients:

Chicken breasts (boneless, skinless)               2 LBS.

Eggs, beaten                                                                3 EA.

Flour                                                                                2 C

Panko                                                                              2 C

Salt and pepper                                                         TT

Peanut oil                                                                  For frying

Instructions:

*this recipe uses a standard breading procedure*

  1. Slice chicken breasts into thin strips.
  2. Beat the eggs in a bowl and add chicken.
  3. Coat the chicken with the beaten eggs.
  4. On a large plate or deep pan, mix flour, salt and pepper.
  5. On another large plate or deep pan, add panko.
  6. Take the egg coated chicken and cover in flour mixture.
  7. Dip back in the egg mixture to coat again.
  8. Coat in Panko.
  9. Fry in peanut oil on medium-high heat until golden brown.

Serve with your favorite dipping sauce!  My son’s favorite sauce is peanut sauce and my boyfriend’s favorite is sweet chili sauce.

Side Notes!

While we are talking about Musubi, it is everyone’s favorite comfort food in Hawaii.  If you have not had one, YOU MUST HAVE ONE.  In fact, I’m now tempted to plan a musubi party in the near future because I’m obsessing over them right now.  It’s a fun and easy meal and like sushi, you can stuff it with anything you want!  I recently discovered a place called Mana Bu, in my hometown of Honululu, Hawaii.  When I got there, I couldn’t believe that I was standing in a room with so much musubi.  HUNDREDS of them!  It was heaven!!  The staff was straight out of a Manga cartoon too…it was very surreal.  If you are ever visiting Hawaii, GO THERE.

Namasu is another comfort food for me.  Usually you can find some in my refrigerator.  My son and my other half loves it!  I do the easy version:  sliced cucumbers, shredded carrots, seasoned rice vinegar, dried shrimps and a sprinkling of salt.  Marinate over night and you’ve got the easiest, tastiest pickles ever.  Here is my favorite picture of my mom making it for my family…

HPIM2572

HPIM2574                                                                             bucket full of namasu!

 

Leave a Reply

