The C-5 (Crispy Chocolate Chip Cranberry Cookie)

Best fricken cookie ever...

Best fricken cookie ever…

I don’t know about you, but I love a good, crispy cookie.  Don’t get me wrong, I love the traditional chewy types (I have one favorite chewy cookie recipe in particular that I will share with you later…), but the crispy ones always get me.  My mother, my younger sister, and I had a little cookie basket company in Hawaii.  It was seasonal, usually during Christmas and my mom and I baked cookies like crazy.  I remember coming home from school and after dinner, my mom and I would start baking into the night.  We worked our asses off and for some strange reason it never really bothered me.  I actually enjoyed it!  In my home, I only have two cookies that I bake all the time, even though I have a ton of tried and true cookie recipes.  The C-5 is one of them.

Ingredients:

Butter                                      2 sticks

Sugar                                      3/4 cup

Brown Sugar                         3/4 cup

Egg                                              1

Vanilla Extract                     1 Tbsp.

Flour                                           2 and 1/4 cup

Salt                                             1/2 tsp.

Baking Powder                   2 tsp.

Baking Soda                       1 tsp.

Chocolate Chips                12-16 ounces

Dried Cranberries               8-12 ounces

Instructions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  2. In a mixing bowl, cream butter, sugar, and brown sugar.
  3. Add egg and vanilla.  Mix well.
  4. In another bowl, mix together the flour, salt, baking powder, and baking soda.
  5. Add dry ingredients to butter mixture in 3 parts.  Mix well.
  6. Add your favorite chocolate chips (I use dark chocolate) and dried cranberries.
  7. On a baking sheet, drop dough by tablespoon full, about an inch and a half apart.
  8. Press down gently with sugar to flatten slightly (about 1/2 inch thickness)
  9. Bake 7 minutes, turn, then bake 5-7 more minutes or until golden brown.  (ovens vary)
  10. Cool on cookie sheet.  Cookies should be crisp all the way through.

*substitutions and additions may include:  butterscotch chips, peanut butter chips, carob chips, dried blueberries, dried cherries, your favorite nut(s)*

Leave a Reply

