Peanut Butter Melt Cookies

Melts in your mouth, for real.

Melts in your mouth, for real.

I wanted to make cookies really bad the other night.  So, my son and I went to the grocery store to pick up some ingredients.  While shopping, we picked up the usual suspects for the C-5 cookies: butter, sugar, brown sugar, chocolate chips and cranberries.  We walked passed the refrigerated section and noticed the ready made cookie dough section.  One tube of chocolate chip cookie dough was cheaper than the 12 ounce bag of chocolate chips we were going to buy.  I NEVER buy ready made dough, but for some reason, this sounded like a good idea at the moment…and it was cheap!  So we put everything back on the shelf and settled for the tube of dough (I will be nice and not mention the brand name).  The next day, I baked the tube of dough and…you guessed it…it was awful.  This was actually the first time in my life that I was not happy with what came out of my oven.  My son and my boyfriend liked them, but even dipped in milk I was not impressed.  It did not satisfy my cookie craving at all.

The next day, I went back to the grocery store to buy ingredients for a real cookie.  A “Trisha” cookie, as my boyfriend put it!  This time, I flipped through my mom’s recipes and found an oldie, but goodie.  This recipe came from the “cookie business” vault, when my mom, my sisters and I used to sell cookie baskets to offices.  It was one of the more delicate cookies and I definitely ate my share of the broken ones!  It’s lighter than a shortbread cookie, believe it or not.  So grab a glass of milk and a couple of these suckers and ENJOY!

Ingredients:

Butter                         1 block

Vegetable oil            1/2 cup

Sugar                              1/2 cup

Brown sugar             1/2 cup

Peanut Butter            1/2 cup

Egg                                     1

Vanilla                              1 tsp.

Flour                                  1 and 1/4 cups

Baking Powder         1/2 tsp.

Baking Soda                 1 tsp.

Salt                                    1 tsp.

Instructions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees
  2. In a large mixing bowl, cream butter, oil, both sugars until incorporated.  Mix in peanut butter, egg, and vanilla.
  3. Sift dry ingredients and add to creamed mixture, mixing well.  Do not over mix.
  4. On a greased cookie sheet, drop dough by teaspoon fulls about 2 inches apart.
  5. Flatten in a criss-cross pattern with fork dipped in sugar.
  6. Bake for about 15 minutes, turning pan at the half way point.
  7. When cookies are a deep golden brown, remove from oven.
  8. Let cool on the pan for a minute or two.  Cookies will break easily if taken off the pan too soon.
  9. Remove to wire rack to finish cooling.

Yield:  about 3 dozen cookies.

2 thoughts on “Peanut Butter Melt Cookies

  1. I know what you mean about making this mistake! I have thought before something store bought and ready made will satisfy a certain craving and then I am usually sadly disappointed- when you can make delicious homemade cookies, there is nothing that can beat it 🙂

Leave a Reply

