Peep Show!

IMG_0785

 

Okay, the title is a little misleading.  But seriously, this was a rather genius moment.  Every year, my mom sends a crap load of Peeps to my son for Easter.  Every time we get these, I let them sit around until summertime when I do a lot of outdoor grilling, after all, Peeps are not the most delicious Easter treat….until you’ve had them toasted on a stick over the grill!  It’s like eating a creme brulee on a stick….magical, fluffy, covered with a caramelized sugar crust!  Trust me, you have not had a proper toasted marshmallow until you’ve had a toasted Peep.  Step it up a level…tonight I had the munchies.  I wanted to make something , but quickly.  I had all the makings for a Rice Krispie treat.  The only thing was, Peeps were the only option for marshmallows!  This snack was made in less than 7 minutes!  The Peeps were melted and caramelized in the butter when I mixed it together…and the finishing flavor was far superior than when I used regular marshmallows!!  The burnt sugar flavor was DELICIOUS.  I don’t think I can ever use regular marshmallows again!

 

IMG_0787

 

 

Eat it warm, with a a drizzle of chocolate and peanut butter….YUM!

Leave a Reply

